College of Science Advancement Board | College of Science

College of Science Advancement Board

Formed in early 2018 and presently led by the board chair Dr. Erin Tate, the purpose of the Advancement Board is to support the UNT College of Science in achieving its mission to provide a supportive and collaborative environment for everyone in our COS community. Their leadership and fundraising efforts are helping us advance the education within our college with a focus on research and technology development. The board works closely with the Dean and COS leadership to ensure success in their efforts to enhance our programs and offerings.

You can help the Advancement Board and the College of Science make a direct impact on the academic achievements of our students and research by making a donation online here or contacting Development Officer Meghan Dours at

Meet the Board

Erin Tate, Board Chair

Veterinarian | Partner at City Vet

Dr. Erin Tate graduated with an undergraduate degree in Biology at UNT in 1994 and went on to complete her Doctor in Veterinary Medicine at Texas A&M in 1999. For the past fourteen years she has been a veterinarian and partner at CityVet. She has supervised the external electives program for Ohio State veterinary students and is a speaker for Zoetis pharmaceuticals on veterinarian dermatology. Dr. Tate comes from a proud UNT family. Her late father, Dr. Chester Tate, began teaching as a professor in the Department of Political Science in 1970 and later served as a Regents Professor and the Dean of the Toulouse School of Graduate Studies. Dr. Tate cares for animals around the clock, including her five felines, two canines, and a duo of sulcata tortoises named Jake and Eddie.

Linda Creagh

Retired Chemist

Dr. Linda Truitt Creagh retired in 2008 from FUJIFILM Dimatix (in Santa Clara, California) as the Business Development Director, where she had been since 1985. Previously, she participated in ink jet development with Xerox R&D (10 years) and liquid display research at Texas Instruments (6 years). She published a number of technical and U.S. and foreign patents in the fields of ink jet technology and liquid crystal displays. Dr. Creagh holds B.S. ('62), M.S. ('63) and Ph.D. ('67) degrees from the University of North Texas, and she was notably the first student to graduate with a Ph.D. in Chemistry at the UNT. She has been a member of the CLASS Advisory Board since 2006 and is a lifetime member of the UNT Alumni Association. Dr. Creagh was the second residing Board Chair for the UNT College of Science Advancment Board from 2020-22.

Charles E. Mangum

Physician | North Texas Pathology Laboratories, LLC

Dr. Charles E. Mangum, M.D., M.B.A., F.A.C.P., was the first residing Board Chair for the UNT College of Science Advancment Board from 2018-20. He received his B.S. in Biology from the University of North Texas in 1987 and medical degree from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Dallas in 1991. He continued his training there, completing an anatomic and clinical pathology residency along with a fellowship in surgical pathology in 1996. Dr. Mangum completed a Masters of Business Administration from Baylor University's Hankamer School of Business in 2005.

Harvey W. Wiggins, Jr.

President | Plexon, Inc.

Harvey W. Wiggins is the President and Founder of Plexon, Inc. and is well-known as an early pioneer of establishing the neural data acquisition equipment market as a commercial industry. Harvey majored in math and physics at the University of North Texas (UNT '64) and earned a Master's of Science degree in Electrical Engineering, carrying double majors in Computer Science and Biomedical Engineering from Southern Methodist University (SMU). Harvey's early career included computer engineering for Nuclear Chicago Corporation and leading a research computer facility at the Callier Center for Communication Disorders where he first became enamored with neurophysiology.

T.M. Dickson, Jr. (Milton Dickson)

Dentist | Dental Associates of North Texas

T.M. Dickson, Jr. is a dentist who graduated from UNT's College of Arts and Sciences as a Biology major in ('55). His current employment is with Dental Associates of North Texas. He is an active alum who has maintained a close relationship and supported UNT students and scholarship since graduating.